January 25, 2017 CDI Meeting Summary

President’s Commission on Diversity & Inclusion

Meeting Summary
January 25, 2017

1. Agenda

View meeting agenda here.

2. Attendance

Members Present

Shannon Archibeque-Engle, Becki Atadero, Anita Bundy, Dan Bush, Josh Casto, Oscar Felix, Maria Fernandez-Gimenez, Alex Foor, Vanessa Hayward, Kaye Holman, Pam Jackson, Mike Jaramillo, Bridgette Johnson, Alexa Kanda-Olmstead, Linda Krier, Kelly Long, Teresa McClure, Arlene Nededog, Mary Ontiveros, Lisa Pappas, Diana Prieto, Jimena Sagas, Jennifer Schneider, Herman Shelton, Kathy Sisneros, Megan Skeehan, Ashley Stokes, Leslie Taylor, Joe Tiner, Ria Vigil, Cori Wong.  Dwight Burke, Martin Carcasson

Substitutes included:

Alex Foor for Erin Vargas Gutirerrez.

3. Guest Speaker/s

A. Martin Carcasson, Professor in Communication Studies, and Director of Center for Public Deliberation handed out a survey for the group to fill out regarding operating guidelines. He will have results at the next meeting.

Martin also handed out the proposal for official recommendations or statements from the commission:

  • Topic is introduced
  • Committee formed
  • Recommendations created
  • Small group discussion
  • Refine recommendations
  • Decision is made on what is sent forward

B. Dwight Burke, CSU’s Support & Safety Assessment Department, discussed processes and guidelines that are currently in place when a student crosses the line, including disciplinary actions; support systems; dissemination of information; involving the departments/deans; etc.

The real question is — how do we all play a part in promoting a culture where this kind of behavior is not acceptable and how do we impact the need to promote the culture we want on campus? We need to involve department chairs and deans in creating this kind of atmosphere as leadership roles needs to impress upon their supervisees what is expected. And we need to understand the legal/ethical morals that we have to work within.  Boundaries need to be established and we realize that not  everyone is going to agree with guidelines or enforcements.

A subcommittee was formed to work with Dwight’s office. Volunteers to be on this subcommittee include: Anita Bundy, Megan Skeehan, Herman Shelton, Shannon Archibeque-Engle, Becki Atadero, Leslie Taylor, Kathy Sisneros, Dwight Burke.

4. Subcommittee updates

  1. Hiring report recommendations have been given to Tony Frank. Mary and he will continue to visit about these recommendations
  2. The Inclusive holiday committee met in November. They are focusing on the educational component of diverse cultural/religious holidays.
  3. Diversity Plan Report. Ria Vigil pointed out that many departments have a diversity plan, however they are very often created and then shelved. She provided a handout helping to streamline the process with the main tenant being the recruitment and retention of diverse students and employees.
  • A subcommittee was formed to create a rubric stating goals and progress reports comprised of the following volunteers: Bridgette Johnson, Jimena Sagas, Oscar Felix, Ria Vigil, Kathy Sisneros, Teresa McClure, Ashley Stokes and Carmen Rivera.
  • Would also like to research what other institutions are doing.